"Design changes permanently" Interview with Vice President Design Gorden Wagener

Since mid-2008 Gorden Wagener is Vice President Design for the worldwide operating design unit of Daimler. For him, design defines brands and a holistic approach is essential. Not only the products but also the brands of Daimler must be staged perfectly. Therefore, he and his international team are responsible for the design of all brands and products within Daimler, including all cars as well as a holistic corporate design of all brands.

The focus is on the brand Mercedes-Benz. Under his leadership, the new design philosophy of sensual purity was created in 2009, which is now being continually developed. It defines modern luxury and expresses an essential aspect of the brand - the bipolarity of intelligence and emotion.

A variety of models bear Gorden Wagener's signature as Vice President Design, such as the new E-Class, C- and S-Class models, the SUVs GLE Coupé and GLC, the Mercedes-AMG GT as well as smart and the commercial vehicles of the company.

Gorden Wagener – Chief Design Officer Daimler AG | (copyright) 2015 - Michael Dannenmann

Mr. Wagener, what is design and how is it different from art?

I think the boundaries between design and art can be fluid. Automotive design is an artistic, sensory-based act of creation, albeit one that operates within corresponding parameters and can be judged to be "good" or "bad". This contrasts with the great freedom offered by art.

Imagine if you were to come across a sketch from earlier in your career while spring cleaning. What would you make of it now?

I expect I would think that I have made good progress since then.

Why did cars have straight edges in the 1980s, and why did they become more rounded again in the 1990s? Why is design constantly changing?

People are constantly developing new requirements, which is why design also never stops changing. In the world of fashion, for example, at least four new collections are presented every year. New trends emerge in the field of automotive design roughly once a decade. At the same time, however, vehicles have to have longer useful lives than other products (they will be visible on our roads for many years after all), and have to meet the prevailing yet ever-changing ideal of beauty. Because this is what shapes the preferences of our customers.

Do you see a realistic chance that certain design trends from past decades will re-emerge in the future? What would they be, for example?

Past trends always come around again. Although not too often, I hope, in the case of the 1980s. But the presentation of the brand also inspires good automotive design if it translates the brand's tradition into the modern day. We have completed the transition from traditional to modern-day luxury, for example, and re-interpreted the brand as a result without creating the impression of "retro" design.

It is a well-known fact that design is a question of taste. How do you strike a balance between trends in the industry, feedback from customers and your own ideas?

That's the challenge! With our design philosophy of sensuous clarity, we have developed a design idiom that we use to perfectly present our products. They have to be hot and cool, which means beautiful, sexy but also modern and high-tech. In other words, they must represent the modern luxury of Mercedes-Benz in the best possible way.

How will automotive design change in the future?

The interior of the automobile will become increasingly important in the future, as a "third place" in addition to the home and the office. Particularly in the age of autonomous vehicles and digitization, this is where passengers increasingly want to enjoy modern luxury.

Usage of cookies

In order to optimize the website and for continuous improvement Daimler uses cookies. You agree to the usage of cookies when you continue using this site.

"Design unterliegt kontinuierlichem Wandel". Interview mit Design-Chef Gorden Wagener

Gorden Wagener leitet seit Mitte 2008 den weltweit tätigen Designbereich bei Daimler. Für ihn ist Design markenprägend und der ganzheitliche Gestaltungsansatz essentiell, da sowohl die Produkte als auch die Marken bei Daimler perfekt inszeniert werden müssen. Daher gestaltet sein international aufgestelltes Team sämtliche Marken und Produkte des Unternehmens - von den Automobilen bis hin zum holistischen Corporate Design aller Konzernmarken.

In Fokus seiner Arbeit steht die Marke Mercedes-Benz. Hierfür wurde unter seiner Leitung 2009 die neue Design-Philosophie der sinnlichen Klarheit entworfen, die kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt wird. Die progressive Formensprache definiert modernen Luxus und bringt einen wesentlichen Aspekt der Marke Mercedes-Benz - die Bipolarität aus Intelligenz und Emotion - exakt auf den Punkt.

Gorden Wageners Handschrift als Designchef tragen unter anderem die neue E-Klasse, die Modelle der C- und S-Klasse, die Geländewagen GLE Coupé und GLC, der Mercedes-AMG GT und darüber hinaus smart sowie die Nutzfahrzeuge des Konzerns.

Herr Wagener, was ist Design und wie unterscheidet es sich zur Kunst?

Ich denke, die Übergänge zwischen Design und Kunst können fließend sein. Das Automobil-Design ist ein künstlerisch, sinnlich orientiertes Schaffen, wird jedoch von entsprechenden Parametern bestimmt und kann hinsichtlich „gut“ oder „schlecht“ beurteilt werden. Die Kunst ist dagegen sehr frei.

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie stoßen beim Frühjahrsputz auf eine Skizze aus den Anfängen Ihrer Karriere. Was würden Sie heute darüber denken?

Ich würde vermutlich denken, dass ich mich gut weiterentwickelt habe.

Warum waren die Autos in den 80ern eckig, warum wurden sie in den 1990ern wieder abgerundeter? Warum ist Design stets im Wandel?

Der Mensch entwickelt stetig neue Bedürfnisse und so unterliegt auch das Design einem kontinuierlichen Wandel. In der Mode zum Beispiel werden alljährlich mindestens vier neue Kollektionen präsentiert. Bei uns im Automobildesign entsteht grob gesagt in jeder Dekade etwas Neues. Zugleich müssen Fahrzeuge aber langlebiger sein als andere Produkte - sie sind schließlich viele Jahre auf unseren Straßen zu sehen - und dem jeweils vorherrschenden, aber sich veränderndem Schönheitsideal entsprechen. Denn dieses definiert die Wünsche unserer Kunden.

Gorden Wagener – Chief Design Officer Daimler AG | (copyright) 2015 - Michael Dannenmann

Halten Sie es für realistisch, dass sich bestimmte Designtrends aus den vergangenen Jahrzehnten in Zukunft erneut durchsetzen werden? Was zum Beispiel?

Vergangene Trends wiederholen sich immer wieder mal. Wobei ich hoffe, dass dies in Bezug auf die 80er nicht allzu oft der Fall sein wird. Allerdings inspiriert gutes Autodesign auch die Inszenierung der Marke, wenn sie deren Tradition in die Moderne überträgt. Wir haben beispielsweise einen traditionellen in einen modernen Luxus überführt und die Marke dadurch neu interpretiert, ohne den Anschein von „Retro-Design“ zu erwecken.

Design ist ja bekanntlich auch Geschmackssache. Wie bringen Sie Branchentrends, Kundenfeedback und eigene Vorstellungen in Einklang?

Das ist die Herausforderung! Mit unserer Designphilosophie der sinnlichen Klarheit haben wir eine Formensprache entwickelt, mit der wir unsere Produkte perfekt in Szene setzen: Sie müssen hot & cool sein, das meint sie müssen schön, sexy und zudem modern und technisch sein – sprich: sie sollen den modernen Luxus von Mercedes-Benz optimal repräsentieren.

Was wird sich im Automobil-Design zukünftig grundsätzlich ändern?

Der Innenraum des Automobils wird in Zukunft vehement an Bedeutung gewinnen, er wird zum „third place“, neben dem „Home“ und „Office“. Gerade im Zeitalter des autonomen Fahrens und der Digitalisierung ist dies der Ort, an dem die Passagiere zunehmend modernen Luxus genießen wollen.

Wir verwenden Cookies

Damit wollen wir unsere Webseiten nutzerfreundlicher gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern. Wenn Sie die Webseiten weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie dadurch der Verwendung von Cookies zu.