Cooperate to innovate.

Bringing together what makes Daimler successful. The Cooperation & Innovation Management division within Research & Development initiates strategic partnerships with external companies in order to bring innovation into our vehicles and ecosystems more quickly and efficiently.

It is important to cooperate early with external drivers of innovation, start-ups, and technology companies, in order to continuously develop Daimler’s technology leadership. It is a win-win-win situation: for Daimler, to keep the role as an innovation forerunner, for our employees, who can focus on their core business activities, and for the cooperation partner, who can promote their innovation together with a radiating brand.

RD/IM creates the necessary structures for getting strategic partnerships up and running and to efficiently further develop them. Therefore, RD/IM collaborates closely with the international digital hubs of Mercedes-Benz.

What we do

We believe in cooperation as the cornerstones of innovation in a continuously transforming environment.

We are continuously seeking new partners with focus on your demands. We keep an eye on the latest technical innovations beyond our ecosystem.

With our proven 4-step process, we develop your new business relationship with external partners. We assist and guide you in all aspects of a cooperation, so you can focus on your core deliverables.

Scout.

Based on the departments’ needs, we are looking for external companies and innovations in search of the best possible cooperation partner.

Screen.

Working with the departments, we use various criteria to determine whether a potential partner is the right fit for us. These include their innovative capacity and the degree of technical maturity. Based on this evaluation, we decide together with the relevant departments, if we want to pursue a cooperation.

Engage.

Time to get serious: at this stage, we negotiate the partnership agreements. And after the event of at shaping a cooperation, it’s time to get down to work.

Develop.

We support the departments in order to fully realize the potential offered by their cooperations. We also monitor the performance of the partnerships and processes to ensure that new technologies and innovations are ultimately incorporated into the ecosystem of the Mercedes-Benz vehicles.

With our cooperation and innovation management platform CIMme, we offer a tool for transparent data exchange and for support throughout the cooperation process.

Success stories

We need to look for partners that are offering new, customer-oriented solutions with a high degree of maturity.

Entering a destination into a navigation system can be a real bugbear, as there are many places around the world that do not have an address, such as places that are away from built-up areas in parks, in forests, and in the mountains. In addition, addresses can be imprecise or unclear, and street names could be the same in one city. You can, of course, identify any location around the world based on its GPS coordinates – but who can remember those complicated number sequences?

Mercedes-Benz and the London-based start-up what3words have come up with a solution. Any location around the world can be pinpointed to within 3 × 3 meters using just three words. The system, which is optimized for voice input and has integrated error recognition, is currently available in 14 languages. Mercedes-Benz is the first automobile manufacturer to introduce this technology as standard, beginning with the MBUX in the new A-Class and the latest COMAND generation. This is a perfect example of agile cooperation between two innovative partners for the quick integration of a vision into a product that the customer can experience.

Digital Hubs

From Berlin to Beijing: we engage in business around the world in digital hubs – quickly and flexibly.

Transparency and responsibility

We offer the departments a tool that enables transparent and clear management of numerous cooperations.

Our team

May we introduce: creative minds and drivers of ideas – if someone knows anything about strong partnerships, it is this team!

Alexander Nediger

Director Cooperation and Innovation Management

Ben Boeser

Head of Open Innovation, North America

Michael Panagiotidis

Manager, Digital Partnerships

Eyal Mayer

Head of Innovation, Mercedes-Benz Research and Development Tel Aviv

We use cookies

We want to make our website more user-friendly and continuously improve it. If you continue to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Cooperate to innovate.

Zusammenbringen, was Daimler weiterbringt. Das Cooperation & Innovation Management im Bereich Research & Development stößt strategische Partnerschaften mit externen Unternehmen an, um schneller und effektiver Innovationen in unsere Fahrzeuge und unser Ökosystem zu bringen.

Um die Technologieführerschaft auch morgen weiter auszubauen, ist es wichtig, früh mit externen Innovationstreibern, Start-ups und Technologieunternehmen zusammenzuarbeiten. Eine Win-win-win-Situation: für Daimler, der als innovativer Vorreiter wahrgenommen wird, für unsere Mitarbeiter, die sich auf ihr Kerngeschäft konzentrieren können, und für den Kooperationspartner, der sich und seine Innovation nun gemeinsam mit einer Marke mit hoher Strahlkraft voranbringen kann.

RD/IM schafft die notwendigen Strukturen, damit strategische Partnerschaften an den Start gebracht und effizient vorangetrieben werden. Hierfür wird auch intensiv mit den internationalen Hubs von Mercedes-Benz zusammengearbeitet.

Was wir machen

In einer Welt, die sich im Wandel befindet, glauben wir an die Innovation durch Kooperation.

Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Partnerschaften für die verschiedensten Bedarfe. Wir fokussieren uns auf die neusten technologischen Innovationen – auch außerhalb unseres eigenen Ökosystems.

Über unser bewährtes 4-Stufen-Modell entwickeln wir die Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern. Dabei leiten und unterstützen wir in allen Aspekten einer Kooperation, so dass Sie sich voll und ganz auf Ihr Kerngeschäft konzentrieren können.

Scout.

Basierend auf den Bedürfnissen der Fachbereiche, durchforsten wir externe Unternehmen und Innovationen nach bestmöglichen Kooperationspartnern.

Screen.

Anhand verschiedener Kriterien prüfen wir gemeinsam mit den Fachbereichen, ob mögliche Partner zu uns passen. Darunter fallen zum Beispiel die Innovationskraft und der technische Reifegrad. Davon ausgehend entscheiden wir in Zusammenarbeit mit den zuständigen Abteilungen, ob wir eine Kooperation anstreben.

Engage.

Jetzt wird’s ernst: Wir handeln die Kooperationsverträge aus. Und nach der Freude über einen Zusammenschluss folgt nun die Zeit der Umsetzung.

Develop.

Wir unterstützen die Fachbereiche, um die Möglichkeit ihrer Kooperation vollständig auszuschöpfen. Wir begleiten aber auch die Performance der Partnerschaften und die Prozesse, damit sichergestellt wird, dass neue Technologien und Innovationen in das Ökosystem der Mercedes-Benz Fahrzeuge integriert werden.

Mit CIMme, unserer Kooperations- und Innovationsmanagements-Plattform, bieten wir ein Werkzeug für transparenten Datenaustausch und Support über den gesamten Prozess einer Kooperation.

Erfolgsgeschichten

Wir müssen uns nach Partnern umsehen, die neue, kundenorientierte Lösungen mit hohem Reifegrad bieten.

Schreckgespenst Zieleingabe des Navigationssystems: So gibt es weltweit viele Gebiete, für die keine Adressen existieren – abseits von Siedlungen etwa, in Parks, im Wald oder in den Bergen. Hinzu kommt: Adressen können unpräzise oder uneindeutig sein, Straßennamen gibt es mehrfach. Zwar ist jeder Ort der Erde über seine GPS-Koordinaten bestimmt – aber wer kann sich die komplizierten Zahlenfolgen schon merken?

Mercedes-Benz und das Londoner Start-up what3words haben die Lösung dafür. Mit nur drei Wörtern kann jeder Ort auf der Welt auf 3 × 3 Meter genau adressiert werden. Dieses auf Spracheingabe optimierte System mit eingebauter Fehlererkennung ist aktuell in 14 Sprachen verfügbar. Mercedes-Benz ist der erste Automobilhersteller, der diese Technologie in Serie bringt – beginnend mit der MBUX in der neuen A-Klasse und der aktuellsten COMAND-Generation. Ein perfektes Beispiel für die agile Zusammenarbeit zweier innovativer Partner zur schnellen Umsetzung einer Vision in ein kundenerlebbares Produkt.

Digital Hubs

Von Berlin bis nach Peking: In den digitalen Hubs sind wir weltweit aktiv - schnell und flexibel.

Transparenz und Verantwortlichkeit

Wir geben den Fachbereichen ein Tool an die Hand, das eine transparente und übersichtliche Steuerung über zahlreiche Kooperationen ermöglicht.

Unser Team

Wir stellen vor: kreative Köpfe und smarte Ideentreiber – wenn sich jemand mit starken Partnerschaften auskennt, dann sie!

Alexander Nediger

Director Cooperation and Innovation Management

Ben Boeser

Head of Open Innovation, North America

Michael Panagiotidis

Manager, Digital Partnerships

Eyal Mayer

Head of Innovation, Mercedes-Benz Research and Development Tel Aviv

Wir verwenden Cookies

Damit wollen wir unsere Webseiten nutzerfreundlicher gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern. Wenn Sie die Webseiten weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie dadurch der Verwendung von Cookies zu.