JOINT THINK! TANK. The Driver of Internal Group Innovation

JOINT THINK! TANK is the internal innovation unit for the central Group functions at Daimler. Our goal is to work together with our colleagues in order to make the Group's organization even more innovative and more efficient.

JOINT THINK! TANK focuses on innovations in administrative and specialist units at Daimler AG and the business divisions: together with the specialist departments (our customers) and employees, we sometimes look for the next "big thing", but it's mostly about making the service functions more customer-oriented, leaner and more efficient through innovations, new ideas and processes. We are striving to develop Daimler step by step from the inside out. The spectrum ranges from the implementation of new forecast models or the use of artificial intelligence in controlling, to an app for the project investment calculation or an information platform for dealing with intellectual property.

Tailored innovation consulting

Each project is unique and only leads to success with the right support. With a view to developing individual solutions, JOINT THINK! TANK understands innovation as a holistic process. This means helping colleagues to get started on the topic of innovation, on the one hand, and making them fit for their own projects, on the other. Because it is here that many colleagues, from controllers to attorneys, get their initial experience with new ideas for innovations. For this, the JOINT THINK! TANK offers regular event, workshop and training formats, strives to inspire and imparts the principles of innovative work.

Effective implementation of innovations

JOINT THINK! TANK then implements specific projects together with colleagues from the departments in its own workshop facilities at the Wizemann Areal in Stuttgart, which provide a neutral environment outside the Daimler sites and away from the daily routine. With a combination of clear structures and courage to explore new approaches, we quickly put the ideas of our employees on their way to tangible results.

In several stations, the innovation experts of JOINT THINK! TANK guide the project teams from the problem through the initial idea generation and prototype development and up to the validation of their product or process. Then, if the management agrees, we also accompany the teams during the implementation and scaling of their project. On the other hand, if an idea does not prove to be worthwhile, it must be rethought or scrapped, true to the motto "fail fast – learn fast".

Enabling employees

In the process, JOINT THINK! TANK takes on the role of coach and mentor, but the employees must develop the solutions themselves. It is important for us not only to support colleagues in the specific situation, but also to develop them into "innovators" in the long term and to pass our methodological expertise on to them. Conversely, we ourselves get insights into many exciting projects that are currently going on in the group and can generate synergies through our network.

Dr. Christian Nitschke

Head of JOINT THINK! TANK

Sina Müller

Communications

We use cookies

We want to make our website more user-friendly and continuously improve it. If you continue to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

JOINT THINK! TANK. Der Treiber für interne Konzerninnovation

JOINT THINK! TANK ist die interne Innovationseinheit für die zentralen Konzernfunktionen bei Daimler. Unser Ziel ist es, die Konzernorganisation gemeinsam mit unseren Kollegen innovativer und noch effizienter zu machen.

JOINT THINK! TANK legt den Fokus auf Innovationen in Verwaltungs- und Fachbereichen in der Daimler AG und den Geschäftsfeldern: Gemeinsam mit den Fachabteilungen (unseren Kunden) und den Mitarbeitern suchen wir manchmal das nächste “große Ding“, meistens geht es aber darum, die Servicefunktionen mit Innovationen, neuen Ideen und Prozessen kundengerechter, schlanker und effizienter zu machen. Wir wollen Daimler von innen heraus Schritt für Schritt weiterentwickeln. Die Bandbreite reicht dabei von der Implementierung neuer Prognose-Modelle oder den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz im Controlling bis zu einer App zur Projektinvestitions-Kalkulation oder einer Informationsplattform zum Umgang mit geistigem Eigentum.

Maßgeschneiderte Innovationsberatung

Jedes Projekt ist einzigartig und führt nur mit der richtigen Betreuung zum Erfolg. Um individuelle Lösungen zu erarbeiten, versteht JOINT THINK! TANK Innovation als ganzheitlichen Prozess. Das heißt zum einen, den Kollegen beim Einstieg in das Thema Innovation zu helfen und sie fit für eigene Projekte zu machen. Denn vom Controller bis zum Rechtsanwalt machen viele Kollegen hier ihre erste Erfahrung mit neuen Ideen zur Innovationfindung. Der JOINT THINK! TANK bietet dazu regelmäßige Veranstaltungs-, Workshop- und Trainingsformate an, will inspirieren und die Grundsätze von innovativem Arbeiten vermitteln.

Innovationen effektiv umsetzen

Konkrete Projekte setzt der JOINT THINK! TANK dann gemeinsam mit den Kollegen aus den Fachbereichen auf seinen Workshopflächen um – in einem von Alltagsfragen unbelasteten Umfeld außerhalb der Daimler-Standorte, im Wizemann Areal in Stuttgart. Mit einer Kombination aus klaren Strukturen und Mut zu neuen Wegen bringen wir die Ideen der Mitarbeiter in kürzester Zeit auf den Weg zu greifbaren Ergebnissen.

In mehreren Stationen führen die Innovationsexperten von JOINT THINK! TANK die Projektteams vom Problem über die erste Ideengenerierung und Prototypenentwicklung bis hin zur Validierung ihres Produktes bzw. Prozess. Wenn dann das Management des Fachbereichs zustimmt, begleiten wir die Teams auch bei der Implementierung und Skalierung ihres Projekts. Bewährt sich eine Idee hingegen nicht, muss sie überdacht oder eingestellt werden, getreu dem Motto „fail fast – learn fast“.

Mitarbeiter befähigen

Im Prozess nimmt JOINT THINK! TANK die Rolle des Coaches und Ratgebers ein; erarbeiten müssen die Mitarbeiter sich die Lösungen aber selbst. Wichtig ist uns nämlich, die Kollegen nicht nur in der konkreten Situation zu unterstützen, sondern sie langfristig zu „Innovatoren“ zu entwickeln und unsere methodische Kompetenz an sie weiterzugeben. Umgekehrt bekommen wir Einblicke in viele spannende Projekte, die gerade im Konzern laufen, und können über unser Netzwerk Synergien herstellen.

Robert Mayer

Transformation Management Office

Wir verwenden Cookies

Damit wollen wir unsere Webseiten nutzerfreundlicher gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern. Wenn Sie die Webseiten weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie dadurch der Verwendung von Cookies zu.