Annual Meeting 2008

April 09, 2008 - Daimler AG’s shareholders approved the distribution of a dividend for 2007 of €2.00 per share (prior year: €1.50 per share) at the Annual Meeting held in Berlin on Wednesday.

The total dividend distribution thus amounts to €1,928 million. The item of the agenda “Resolution on the Allocation of Unappropriated Profit” was approved with 99.88% of the votes cast.

The shareholders also granted the Board of Management new authorization to acquire additional shares in a volume of up to 10% of the existing share capital. The authorization takes effect as of April 10, 2008 and remains in force until October 9, 2009. The item of the agenda “Resolution on authorization for the Company to acquire its own shares and on their utilization” was approved with 99.32% of the votes cast. At the Annual Meeting in 2007, the shareholders had authorized the management to acquire almost 10 percent of the outstanding shares; this authorization was fully utilized by the end of March 2008.

In addition, the Annual Meeting elected Ms. Sari Baldauf and Dr. Jürgen Hambrecht as members of the Supervisory Board to succeed Earl G. Graves und Peter A. Magowan, who stood down at the end of 2007. Ms. Baldauf, a member of the Board of Directors of Hewlett-Packard Company and former Executive Vice President and General Manager of the Networks Business Group of Nokia Corporation, and Mr. Hambrecht, Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE, are thereby appointed as members of the Supervisory Board with immediate effect until the Annual Meeting in 2013.

Mr. Jörg Hofmann and Mr. Ansgar Osseforth are new members of the Supervisory Board representing the employees and succeeding Mr. Wolf Jürgen Röder and Mr. Gerd Rheude. Their period of office begins immediately after the 2008 Annual Meeting and ends with the Annual Meeting in 2013.

The actions of the members of the Board of Management were ratified with 99.62 percent; the actions of the members of the Supervisory Board were ratified with 99.57 percent. The additional items of the agenda submitted by shareholders were approved by a maximum of only 6.07 percent of the votes cast and were therefore rejected.

Approximately 6,500 shareholders attended the Annual Meeting at the Berlin Messe exhibition center (prior year: 7,900). 42.45 percent of the shareholders’ voting rights were represented at the Annual Meeting.

On April 10, 2008, the dividend will be paid out to those shareholders who held shares on April 9, 2008.

We use cookies

We want to make our website more user-friendly and continuously improve it. If you continue to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.